Coalville Wheelers Cycling Club



There was a dead heat in the latest Coalville Wheelers event, the Bridget and Bernard Bailey Memorial 10 mile time trial staged on the hilly Breedon on the Hill circuit.  After racing around in wet and windy conditions James Perkins (Team Bottrill) and Carl Dyson (Beeston C.C.) both recorded exactly the same time of 22.14 to take equal first place.  In third place was Jamie Haines of Melton Olympic C.C. who finished in 22.29. Fastest lady on the day was Sally Maitland of Beeston C.C. who finished with a time of 29.07. The prize for the fastest team went to local based club Team Bottrill, comprising of James Perkins in first place, Andrew Lyon in eleventh place (23.58)  and Andrew Knight in seventeenth place (24.49).   Rob Stephenson was the first Coalville Wheeler to finish, he was eighth overall with a time of 23.22.  Other Wheelers times were Lee Nowak 29.38, Andy Leach 29.47, Nev Bray 30.01, John Quimby 30.50 and Trish McPherson 37.39.

On Sunday Coalville Wheelers second claim rider Gareth Pymm, racing for Team Bottrill, competed in the Mid Shropshire Wheelers open 25 mile time trial at Whitchurch.  It was a tough day with brutal cross winds and he finished in eleventh place overall with a time of 57.34.  Team Bottrill also won the team event, their second win of the weekend, with riders in first (Josh Williams 51.20) fourth (George Evans 54.34) and 6th (Aaron Ward 55.44)

Coalville Wheelers next event is a  Wednesday evening 4 mile time trial, the first in the points series,  on 6th April starting  at 6.45 pm from their clubhouse in Griffydam.  All riders welcome, entries taken on the night.


(Comments are closed)
  • Facebook

    1hr Turbo session this Sunday at the clubhouse starting at 9.15am!

    Turbo's available if required.
    ... See MoreSee Less

    View on Facebook

    I guess Mark Brighty has had a busy day promoting the Club 😝 ... See MoreSee Less

    View on Facebook

    It was not possible to secure the Velodrome for 21st April, but we’ve managed to book an alternative date of Sunday 1st April, 9:00 to 11:00.

    To secure your place, please let Greg Hodges know and transfer £18 (£13 for under 18) to the club’s bank account, ref “track”. (Message me if you need the bank details) If you need to hire a bike, 🚴🏻‍♂️ please let Greg know, adding £13.80 to your payment. Payment by 2nd March latest please.

    You’ll need Look Keo shoe plates for the hire bike. Shoes can be hired if needed.

    This is quite an investment for the club to hire the track, so your support for this event would be appreciated.
    ... See MoreSee Less

    View on Facebook

    Saturday 21st April - 12:00 - 14:00 at Derby Velodrome

    Subject the confirmation from the Velodrome, Greg Hodges has booked the track with a coach on the above date for a two hour session for club members; novices and experienced riders.

    A great chance to experience the fun and excitement of riding on the track, good speed training in the warm and dry, and to start your accreditation.

    We need at least 20 riders to make this viable, so please come along and have some fun.

    Senior riders £18, under 18 £13. Hire bikes available at £13.45 for two hours. This is a lot cheaper than booking directly.

    Please email Greg if you’re interested in attending on:- or comment below.

    Once the date is confirmed, we’ll let you know and collect monies.

    Also, Melton Olympic/Leics RC have spaces on their session 31/3 (Easter Saturday) 14:00 - 16:00. Contact Theresa Coltman if interested.
    ... See MoreSee Less

    View on Facebook
  • Wiggle