Coalville Wheelers Cycling Club



Over the last two Saturdays Coalville Wheelers have held early season 10 mile time trials around the Breedon on the Hill circuit (A10/34) which were open to club and guest riders.   Wheelers own Mark Cooper was fastest rider in the first event recording 23.41 for first place with Wheelers James Flahey second in 23.57.  In third place was guest rider Adam Huells of V.C. Long Eaton in 24.21. Wheelers also filled the next three places with Mark Brighty fourth in 26.15, Ashley Long fifth in 26.33 and Tony Picance sixth in 27.27.  Other Wheelers times were John Shaw 27.58, Nev Bray 28.21 and  Mark Morgan 28.27.  Next came the fastest lady on the day, Ellie Cooper, in 29.01.  Greg Hodges finished in 30.01, Andy Leach in 31.00 and Bev Morgan in 37.34.

On the same day Wheelers second claim rider Gareth Pymm, racing for Team Bottrill, competed in the A5 Rangers Hilly 34  mile time trial at Towcester and came home in seventh place with a time of 1. 29.12.  His Team Bottrill colleague, James Perkins came third in 1.22.38 and with their combined times they took first team prize.

The second ten mile event on Saturday was dominated by guest riders who filled the first three places.  Sean Vincent (Team Bottrill) came home in a very quick time for the circuit, 22.47, a personal best for the course, to take first place.  Second was Will Cowen (Kings Cliff) in 23.24 and third Kurt Hatwell (RMCC) in 23.57. Just one second slower was James Flahey, the fastest Wheeler on the day,  who recorded 23.58 for fourth place, with Mark Cooper a further three seconds down in fifth spot with a 24.01  recording.  Other Coalville Wheelers times were Steve Heggs 25.04, Ashley Long 27.32, Ellie Cooper, who was quickest lady, 28.41, Lee Nowak 29.07, Andy Leach 29.13 and  Gary Mason 31.01.  Peige Symonds, riding her first ever time trial, recorded a time of 38.46, and Trish McPherson finished in 40.10.

Coalville Wheelers series of Wednesday evening time trials start on Wednesday 30th March with a 4 miler starting at 6.45 p.m. from their clubhouse in Griffydam.  All club and guest riders are welcome, entries taken on the day.

(Comments are closed)