Coalville Wheelers Cycling Club


Clubhouse Grand Opening 2014

Clubhouse Generous Supporters

Clubhouse Generous Supporters

Saturday 16th August was the official opening of Coalville wheelers new clubhouse at Griffydam built after the club secured a grant from National Lottery funding through “Inspired Facitilites”, part of the 2012 Olympic Legacy programme.

We received some much needed help from all those shown below with special thanks to Sport England and Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport. Please support them, as they supported us.

The new purpose built clubhouse replaces the old wooden building, erected in 1976, which was formally the wooden telephone exchange at Osgathorpe. Ray Pears, who was part of a team responsible for acquiring and erecting the original clubhouse, cut the tape.

See the Gallery for Photo’s of the day


The afternoons celebrations started with two time trials of one and five miles followed by a barbeque. Over fifty club members past and present entered the time trials on a variety of bikes from modern carbon special time trial machines to old steel framed road bikes, single speed fixed wheel mounts and mountain bikes.

Fastest time by a Coalville Wheeler in the one mile event was shared by Mark Exon and Gareth Pymm who both recorded 1.59. Three riders shared third place, Mark Cooper, Andy Reed and Chris Sidney all recorded 2.03. Sixth was James Flahey in 2.05 seventh Rob Stephenson with 2.06, eighth Mark Russell in 2.10 and ninth shared with Steve Heggs and John Southern on 2.15. Gareth Pymm was also first Wheeler in the five miler in 9.37 from Mark Exon 9.42, and Mark Cooper third in 9.50. Remaining top ten positions were Andy Reed 9.58, James Flahey 10.00, Rob Stephenson 10.07, Chris Sidney 10.08, Mark Russell 10.10, John Southern 10.23 and John Quimby 10.29.

Fastest times in both events were put up by guest rider Ian King who recorded 1.50 in the one mile and 9.19 in the five miles.

A full list of riders and results can be found on the results page.


(Comments are closed)